Questions About IID Requirements in WA? Our Lawyers Have Answers
If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in Washington, you likely have to install an ignition interlock device to legally drive. Violations will result in serious consequences, including arrest and additional sanctions. At Emerald City Law Group, we understand the complexities of the ignition interlock law and charges for Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Let us explain your obligations and get you through the process with the least negative impact as possible.
From getting your IID removed to defending against allegations of violating IID rules and fighting DUI charges altogether, Emerald City Law Group can help you.
Based in Seattle, We Assist People Across Washington and Offer Virtual Consultations. Initial Consults are Free, Confidential, and We’re Available 24/7 to Answer Your Questions.
What Is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a piece of electronic equipment installed in a vehicle that prevents it from starting until the driver blows into the device. Functioning as a miniature breathalyzer, the IID will not allow the vehicle to start unless the alcohol level detected in your breath is below a certain level.
When you blow into an IID, the device evaluates your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). It prevents the engine from starting if your BAC is above a certain level.
An IID may also record how many failed attempts were made to start the vehicle. Such data can be made available to a judge or probation officers.
Ignition Interlock Devices: What You Need to Know
An ignition interlock device is required for anyone convicted of a DUI in Washington state. It is supposed to be a deterrent and a preventative measure to stop DUIs from happening.
Additionally, if you have a prior DUI charge, a judge at a subsequent DUI arraignment will require you to have either an IID or an ankle bracelet to monitor any consumption of alcohol while the new DUI is pending. The judge will require you to have one of these devices installed within 5 days of our arraignment due to your DUI prior history.
Before you install your IID, there are some things you should know.
Ignition Interlock Device Installation
In Washington, an ignition interlock device is a court-ordered condition of probation following a DUI conviction. While your license is suspended by the DOL for DUI, you may apply for an Ignition Interlock License (IIL) with the Washington Department of Licensing. This allows you to drive the vehicle while your license is suspended.
Ignition Interlock Device Cost
The Department of Licensing in Washington requires any IID to be installed by a state-certified installer. Applying for an ignition interlock device with the Washington State Department of Licensing costs approximately $100. The cost of the device itself and having it installed in your vehicle can vary. You may pay $115 or more monthly and other associated charges for monthly service.
The costs of installing and maintaining an IID are the responsibility of the driver. However, Washington State offers financial assistance for individuals who qualify under the state’s poverty guidelines.
Washington Interlock Ignition Program Laws
With an IIL, you may legally operate a vehicle equipped with an IID installed. You may send an application for an IIL once you receive notice of the license suspension. To successfully apply for and obtain an IIL, you must provide DOL with proof of financial responsibility (commonly known as SR-22 insurance) and proof of IID installation. and the IIL application.
With an IIL, you may only drive vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device. An IID would also be required on your work vehicle. However, there is an exception you may take advantage of that allows your employer to sign an Employer Declaration for Ignition Interlock Exemption and allows you to drive an employer-owned vehicle for employment purposes without the IID installed. You must, however, have an IID installed in your personal vehicle in order to qualify for this employer exemption.
How Long Is an IID Required?
The time you must have an ignition interlock device in your vehicle is based on whether you have previous DUI convictions and whether the state previously ordered you to install an IID.
- First DUI Offense – An IID is required for one year.
- Second DUI – An IID is required for five years.
- Third or Subsequent Offense – An IID is required for 10 years.
Additionally, suppose you are convicted or plead guilty to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving, negligent driving, or circumventing an IID. In that case, you may have to install and use an IID for at least six months.
Interlock Removal in Washington State
After the IID installation period ends following a DUI conviction, you may remove the IID. However, the installer of the IID must send proof to the Department of Licensing that for four months preceding the removal of the device, you did not fail to maintain the IID properly, did not fail to start the vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 or greater, and did not fail to pass re-tests as required by law or miss any of the required re-tests.
Removing an IID early will result in an extension of the time requirement for the IID. Your restricted license will be canceled if you remove an IID while such a license is still in effect.
Washington IID Info & Resources
Our DUI attorneys can help you make effective choices if you have an ignition interlock device. We know you may have questions, especially if this is your first time getting a device. We have answers. If you don’t see the information you need, please contact Emerald City Law Group immediately.
When Is an IID Required?
Obtaining an IID and IIL is required when your conviction involves DUI/Physical Control. Convictions of lesser alcohol-related offenses, such as negligent or reckless driving, may require an IID. Even with no prior DUI convictions, the court can require an IID or other appropriate restrictions.
If My Car with the IID Is in the Shop, Can I Drive a Vehicle Without an IID?
Driving a car without an IID is a criminal offense if you have been ordered to have one by a court. Additionally, if you have your car repaired, you must have the shop complete a Washington State Patrol Vehicle Service Affidavit so that any incidents recorded on your device are accounted for.
What are the Penalties for Tampering with or Circumventing an IID in WA?
Tampering with or attempting to circumvent an IID is a gross misdemeanor in Washington State. Penalties include jail time, fines, and an extension of the IID requirement.
What Happens if I Fail a Breath Test on My IID?
If you fail a breath test on the IID, the device will prevent your vehicle from starting and the failed test will be logged. Multiple failed tests or attempts to circumvent the IID can lead to extended IID requirements and further legal penalties.
Don’t Wait. Call Our Seattle IID Lawyers Today
You could be in serious trouble if you’ve been accused of removing or disabling an IID. It’s important to contact a criminal defense attorney at Emerald City Law Group as soon as possible. We can walk you through the legal process and help you stay out of jail.
Emerald City Law Group Will:
- Listen to your story and help you understand your options.
- Explain Washington IID laws and how they apply to your situation.
- Help you get your IID requirement removed, if possible.
- Communicate clearly with you about your case.
- Work to get the best outcome possible for you.
DUI Attorneys Serving Washington – Free Consultations 24/7
Emerald City Law Group provides Seattle and the greater Washington area with high-caliber legal representation for those facing IID-related accusations.
Seattle – Local Areas Served
- King County – Bellevue, Auburn, Kent, Renton, Federal Way, Kirkland, Redmond, Bothell, Carnation, Duvall, Issaquah, Maple Valley, Mercer Island, Sammamish, Seattle, & Woodinville
- Snohomish County – Everett, Lynnwood, and Marysville.
- Pierce County – Tacoma, Puyallup, Gig Harbor, and Lakewood
- Grays Harbor
- Kittitas County
- Spokane County
- Cowlitz County
- Douglas County
- Mason County
- Skagit County
- Thurston County
- Island County
- Mason County
- Grays County
- Kitsap County
- Lewis County
- Whatcom County
- Whitman County
- San Juan County