Second Offense Seattle DUI Lawyer
Don’t Let a DUI Define Your Life. Call Emerald City Law Group today.
Home > Seattle DUI Attorney > Second Offense Seattle DUI Lawyer
DUI charges become more severe when you have one or more previous criminal convictions on your record. A 2nd DUI offense in Washington occurs when you have a previous DUI conviction on your record within the past seven years. If you find yourself charged such an offense, you need the strong and experienced advocacy of a second offense Seattle DUI lawyer to secure your legal rights and prepare an effective defense on your behalf.
At Emerald City Law Group, our second offense Seattle DUI lawyers are here to maneuver your case to the best possible outcome. To schedule a free and confidential case consultation, call us today at 206-973-0407, or fill out our contact form.
Second DUI Laws in Washington
Drivers with past convictions related to driving under the influence are subject to stricter penalties in Washington State. Per the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 46.61.502, you may be charged with a second DUI in Seattle if:
- Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or greater
- You have a THC concentration of five ng or higher
- You are impaired due to intoxicating liquor, any drug, or a combination of alcohol and drugs
According to RCW 46.61.504, you may also be charged with a second DUI if you are in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while possessing the intoxicating of drugs or alcohol.
If you’re being accused of committing the for the above crime, you will need the skills and experience of a determined second time DUI lawyer to fight against this charge.
Second DUI Penalties in Washington State
According to RCW 46.61.5055, any person convicted of a DUI with one previous conviction within the past seven years faces the following penalties:
For convicted offenders having a BAC of less than 0.15 percent or no available accurate BAC test results:
- 30 to 364 days of incarceration
- Electric home monitoring
- Fines between $500 and $5,000
- Maximum license suspension of two years
- Alcohol education and treatment
For convicted offenders having a BAC of 0.15 percent or more:
- 45 to 364 days in jail
- Electric home monitoring
- Fines between $750 and $5,000
- Maximum license suspension of 900 days
- Potential alcohol addiction assessment and treatment
If you’ve been convicted of a second DUI, the Washington State Department of Licensing requires you to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your vehicle for a period of five years. If you had a passenger below the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of the offense, you must have an ignition interlock device installed for a minimum of five-and-a-half years. A second DUI conviction in Washington can also leave you vulnerable to the State seizing your vehicle. For all these reasons, having a skilled second time DUI lawyer working on your behalf is vital to mounting an effective defense.
Additional Consequences of a Second DUI
The consequences of a second DUI do not end at the legal and administrative level. It is difficult to retain current employment after a conviction for such an offense. As well, if you are subject to electronic home monitoring, you will be responsible for the expense involved unless you qualify for assistance due to your level of income. Potential employers, landlords, and creditors will have access to your second DUI conviction during background checks.
If you drive a commercial vehicle for a living, a second DUI conviction can mean your commercial driver’s license will be taken away permanently. Additionally, your insurance rates may increase, or your policy may be canceled by your insurance company. Your family may also suffer other additional consequences due to your conviction.
To avoid these collateral consequences of a DUI, be sure to secure an experienced second time DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
Defending Against a Second Time DUI Charge
The prosecutor in your DUI case is looking to prove several important elements. If your attorney can demonstrate any of the following components, you may have the opportunity to avoid a conviction on your charge:
- You were not the person operating the vehicle
- Your traffic stop was not carried out legitimately by law enforcement and your legal rights were not protected
- Any field sobriety tests were administered improperly
- A breath test or other test, (i.e. blood or urine) was not performed correctly
Contact a Second Offense Seattle DUI Lawyer Today
If you are up against a 2nd DUI charge in the state of Washington, it is important to understand the penalties you are facing upon conviction. At Emerald City Law Group, we will work hard on your behalf to ensure you obtain the best result possible. You can count on our experienced team of Seattle DUI lawyers to provide vigorous and intelligent representation that explores every avenue to defend you against the allegations threatening your future. Call us now at 206-973-0407, or complete our contact form to request a free, initial consultation.
How a Seattle DUI Lawyer Can Help
A lot of question come up if you are charged with a DUI in Washington State.
At Emerald City Law Group, we are here to answer them and advise you on what to expect after a DUI. Once we are on your case, we will conduct a thorough investigation to get all the facts, obtain the evidence that may benefit or hurt your case, and will determine the strongest possible defenses for your situation.
Depending on the situation, we can fight for the charges to be dropped or reduced, pursue a plea agreement, or prepare for trial. We will use all our resources to avoid a conviction entirely or minimize the penalties and collateral consequences.
If you have been charged with a DUI in or around King County, Washington, let us explain how we can help. Contact us online or call 206-973-0407 to schedule a consultation.